It's Elementary!

by Jamie Forrest

If you can’t be there… November 22, 2010

Filed under: eci831,Opinion pieces — Jamie @ 1:06 am

…Twitter just may be the next best thing.

Tonight was a very interesting experience. I, of course, watched the Saskatchewan Roughriders play for their spot in the Grey Cup. Normally, it would have been my husband and I at home, watching the game. This year, it was my husband and I and a whole crowd of Twitter fans. We shared celebrations, heart attacks and celebrations. We shared pictures (like the one below) and opinions. Truly an enjoyable social media experience.


 

2 Responses to “If you can’t be there…”

  1. courosa Says:

    I really enjoy watching Rider games this way – it’s rather neat to connect to Rider fans, and of course foes, across the world in different ways. I think social media has added an entirely new dimension to ‘spectator’.

  2. Jen Says:

    This was the first game that I watched with the Twitter universe. I had a column on my Tweet Deck devoted to #riders. At the end of the game my notifications went crazy with tweets. It was a great experience. I am thinking that I will do the same for the Grey Cup game as all of my usual watching buddies will be in Edmonton.


Leave a Reply

