It's Elementary!

by Jamie Forrest

Reflecting December 7, 2010

Filed under: eci831 — Jamie @ 3:54 am

Looking back over all the posts of the semester about my final project, I felt a little sadness. When I read my first posts, I had so much vision and wanted to do so many things that just didn’t materialize.

Having said that, I am very pleased with what HAS been accomplished. I did a lot of research, reading and learning. I did a lot of collaboration with others. I was able to create a space where my kids could share and that space has received a warm reception by students and staff alike.

At the beginning of this course, I wrote a lot about QR codes and about how I wanted to use them as part of my project. Unfortunately, this didn’t go far mostly because of a lack of access to the technology needed. I haven’t abandoned the idea, it was just put on hold until we (at school) can figure out how to make the project feasible. I hope to continue to learn, to blog, and to progress to help this project grow, morph, and evolve into something that works for our school.

So, if you use QR codes in your school, what do you have for students to access the codes? We cannot count on kids having their own SMARTPhones, so we need to set something up that is permanent and accessible for students. Something that will not be easily broken or that will easily walk out of the library… Any suggestions?

Thanks so much for any help you can offer and thank you for following me on my journey this semester. I hope you will continue to stay with me beyond this class.

 

3 Responses to “Reflecting”

  1. David Kinane Says:

    I use http://talesofthings.com this site allows you to assign QR codes to objects and then print out the codes. If you scan the printed out codes in front of a webcam, the resource loads. In addition I also install http://quickmark.com/tw (Windows only at this stage) which can read QR codes on any website or the computer’s desktop, by using the screen capture feature. In addition the software will read codes via a web cam. Therefore you can create resources for challenges like a web quest type activity by simply printing out QR codes and assign the codes to students. The screen capture element of Quickmark also means that you can place QR codes in site resources such as map pins in a Google Map to get students exploring resources designed by you. If you want more support or collaboration opportunities please contact me.

  2. Helen Says:

    Hey, Jamie–thought this link could be helpful: http://www.kerryjturner.com/?p=365

    As for the tool, I’m not sure what the best solution is. The newest iPod Touch seems like the best possibility, but I’m not sure how you can manage check in/check out. Would love to hear what you come up with🙂


Leave a Reply

