It's Elementary!

by Jamie Forrest

#Bookaday – Day 1 December 24, 2010

Filed under: #bookaday — Jamie @ 5:25 am

Today is the first day of holidays.  I slept in and relaxed today.  I started my day by reading this Shining Willow Award Nominee:

This is a cute book that describes a love-hate relationship between two sisters.  It is also the story of a bully and of how a bystander can make a difference in the lives of the bullied.  I really enjoyed this book.  I rated this book 4/5.

 

 

 

 

 

 

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..


***THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS***

Then I went to Chapters to buy some last minute presents for my family and friends.  I also had a $25 gift certificate from a student that I wanted to use…  I mean, I’ve had it for a whole 19 hours!!!  It was burning a hole in my pocket!

I was walking through the children’s section and came across this book.  When it comes to picture books, because they are so expensive, I tend to read them BEFORE purchasing.  I really enjoyed this book’s play on the dichotomy between reading online and reading in a book.  The donkey of the story is trying to understand what is so special about a book.  I chuckled with the mentions of blogging, texting, tweeting, scrolling and the mouse.  I almost laughed out loud when the Pirate’s Arrrrrrrrr becomes rrr! And “We are in agreement then?” becomes K?  And finally Ha! Ha! Ha! becomes LOL!  But the real kicker was the very last page:  but I’ll leave that one for you to discover!  I rated this book 5/5.

Check out this video about this book.

 

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….


I liked this book, although it feels a little unfinished to me. I mean, logically, I understand the ending, but emotionally, I wish there was more to it. It won the Governor General’s Award for both text and illustration. It is definitely a unique format for a book… Not quite graphic novel, not quite novel, not quite picture book, not quite wordless book… But a combination of all these… 

Well worth a read, but with having read so many really good books lately, a little disappointing.

Also, it is considered a children’s book… I’m not sure about that…

I rated this book 3/5.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

This is a very cute book about a little girl with a voracious appetite and a very large imagination!  The book is intented for young readers of French, being from the Petit Roman series.  It is a beginner chapter book highly supported by illustrations, as all books from this series are.

My only complaint about this book is that there are several expressions that are very difficult and cannot be supported by the illustrations.  I, as a strong adult reader, can you my reading skill to guess what they mean, but I’m not sure that my young students would be able to do this.
I rated this book 4/5.

 

One Response to “#Bookaday – Day 1”

  1. StephDJ Says:

    I really want to read Night by Ellie Wiesel but I am somewhat scared of reading it, not sure if I can handle it but also curious of its content. I feel like I have a sense of responsibility towards this book, that I must read it, you know?

    I think the It’s A Book one looks quite cute. I liked the video. Merci!


Leave a Reply

