It's Elementary!

by Jamie Forrest

#Bookaday – Day 3 December 26, 2010

Filed under: #bookaday — Jamie @ 4:24 am

I really love the premise of this book. I love the fact that it circles back to the beginning (one of the writing lessons I like to teach). Some of the transitions from one idea to the next are brilliant in this book, and some are less so… I like the transitions that have some logical meaning (going to the gym because the cat can’t lift all that he finds at the beach) while others seem quite random and have no logical transition (After the gym, he’ll want to go to the park.)

This is the first “If you give a…” book that I’ve read. I see that there are at least 5 others in the series. I would like to read them and perhaps create an ELA unit based on these books.

I rated this book 3/5.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

This is a very cute was to teach Jesus’ parables to younger children in a new and unique way.  The lesson of this parable is to do what is right, even if it is hard.  The text is told in poetry.  It is rhythmic and the story and illustrations are fun and funny.  There are some cute nods to well-known products like the “eyepad” and the box of “Crayon-olas”.

I would definitely use this book in my Religion class when teaching the parables.

I rated this book 4/5.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

I really liked this book.  It is the story of a younger sibling wanting to do what the older is doing.  The boy’s older sister has been cast in the role of Queen of the Universe in the school play.  He wants to be part of the play, but cannot because he is too young.  He dutifully helps his mom sew the costume, helps dad built the set and helps his sister practice her lines until he knows them all by heart.

I really like the story itself, but my favourite part is the little brother who is a different animal with each new scene.  He really has nothing to do with the story, but is a clever diversion that doesn’t feel out of place in the book at all.

I rated this book 4/5.

 

 

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

 

Leave a Reply

