It's Elementary!

by Jamie Forrest

#Bookaday – Day 4 December 27, 2010

Filed under: #bookaday — Jamie @ 2:43 am

I really enjoyed this book.  It echoes what my did always taught me.  The two most important people in any place of work at the secretary and the care taker!  If you befriend and are kind to them, it makes everything else smoother!

Sheree Fitch tells a great story of a Bugaboo Day at an elementary school.  Once again (like the sequel to this book that I read first) this funny story is supported by great illustrations.  I think that each of us can see in the characters teachers that we know, and that makes it even better.

I rated this book 4/5.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

This is a cute story of a young animal who wants to be part of the Nativity.  He wants so badly to be have a part, but is too big, too small, too something for most of the parts in the play.  In the end, he finds the perfect role.

This story is very simple.  It doesn’t have much substance, but it is a cute simple story.

I rated this book 3/5.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

This story is a good introduction to multiplication.  It shows the need to transition from counting to multiplying.  The book does a great job of showing how out of hand counting can get.

However, I wish that there was more evidence of skip counting, showing that transition.  I was also expecting a multiplication table or a list of the multiplication facts that Amanda was supposed to learn at the end of the book.  It wasn’t there.  That was disappointing.

I rated this book 2/5.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

This book is a Shining Willow Award Nominee.  It is the story of one boy’s imagination.  His world gets covered in snow and he spends the days imagining what lies underneath.  His imagination is wonderful and the illustrations (watercolour paintings, I believe) bring his dreams to life.

I really loved this book. I rated it 5/5.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

This is another early chapter book.  It is a funny book about a cockroach trying to make his way in the world.  I really like the repetitive use of the number of family members as they grow and decline throughout the story.  The students will love the scene where the main character goes SPLAT under the bum of a sumo wrestler!

I rated this book 4/5.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

This is a Shining Willow Award Nominee.  It is a very cute circle book.  I love circle stories that end where they begin.  It shows the compassion of friends as they try to help their buddy who is hurt.  I got a chuckle from the various things the friends try to help their friend because they are all things that we, as teachers, parents, babysitters, aunties, grandmas, etc have all done to try and make that boo boo better!

I rated this book 4/5.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

I had trouble starting this book…  Not because I wasn’t looking forward to it…  It has been on my TBR list for a long time.  I think that I just wan’t sure I was in the mood for such heavy content.  It is my book club book this month, so I decided to finally get going on it.  To help me get started, I took my audio version of the book with me to Starbucks and took my dog for a walk with my latte while listening.  I got through the first 40 pages that way.  From then on, I couldn’t put this book down.  It is a wonderfully powerful book about one young Jewish boy’s experience in 1944.  Elie Wiesel chronicles his tale of survival from his home, to Auschwitz, to Buchenwald, to freedom.

There was one particular passage that was so powerful to me.  It is a scene where the prisoners of the camp are dying all around him.  “Not a sound of distress, not a plaintive cry, nothing but mass agony and silence.  Nobody asked anyone for help.  One died because one had to.  No point in making trouble.” (page 89).

What strength of character it must have taken to survive with that much despair around you…  This is a must read.

I rated this book 5/5.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

 

Leave a Reply

