It's Elementary!

by Jamie Forrest

#Bookaday – Day 6 and 7 December 29, 2010

Filed under: #bookaday — Jamie @ 10:15 pm

I did not finish any books on Day 6 of my vacation.  I took a break from reading to visit my grandparents.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

I must admit, I had a little difficulty at the beginning of this book.  The grammar threw me for a loop.  I generally can’t get past written language that reminds me of my students’ writing.  But the story drew me right in.  I couldn’t stop.  This story is amazing and heart-wrenching and sad and scary and exciting and real and…  Well, just incredible.  Wow.

I rated this book 5/5.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

This book is a Shining Willow Award Nominee.  This is a cute book of the relationship between a brother and a sister.  The illustrations by Marie-Louise Gay are absolutely amazing.  The details of the illustrations are so interesting I had to re-read the book by just looking at the illustrations!

I rated this book 4/5.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

I am always searching for good literature that supports our curriculum mandate to incorporate First Nations teachings.  This book is an amazing book.  The story is great on so many levels.  It teaches about Powwows and the Jingle Dress dance.  It alludes to some traditional games and stories that can be researched further.  The illustrations are beautiful.  The language used is just stunning.  The story is touching too.  I just really loved this book.

I rated this book 5/5.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….


 

Leave a Reply

