It's Elementary!

by Jamie Forrest

#Bookaday – Day 8 December 30, 2010

Filed under: #bookaday — Jamie @ 9:50 pm

I enjoyed this rhyming picture book.  This is the story of a young boy who would not share with his little sister.  In the end he learns a valuable lesson from her.  The illustrations are absolutely amazing.  They are caricature-style drawings that absolutely MAKE this book.  I think that my students would really enjoy this book.

I rated this book 4/5.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

I was completely unprepared for the emotional toll this lovely book had on me.  I had tears running down my face…  I giggled…  I held my breath…  This was an absolutely eye-opening reading experience for me.  I wish that I had had a Miss Stretchberry to teach me to love and write poetry as Jack does during this book.

Since I didn’t have that opportunity, it makes me want to learn to be a bit more like Miss S. for my own students…  If you have any other books I should read to inspire this kind of teaching and writing, please share.

Wow.  Wow.  Wow.  I rated this book 5/5.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….


 

3 Responses to “#Bookaday – Day 8”

  1. Les Says:

    Try Hate that Cat too. My kids loved it as well

  2. […] LOVE THAT DOG, and was completely affected emotionally by this book. (You can read the post here.)   Inspired by her free verse poetry, I decided to give it a try.  I’ve never really been a […]


Leave a Reply

