It's Elementary!

by Jamie Forrest

#Bookaday – Day 9 December 31, 2010

Filed under: #bookaday — Jamie @ 10:14 pm

Another hit in my books!  This is the 5th book in the Lunch Lady series.  I really enjoyed the story as well as the small details added to the illustrations.  I particularly like the tools that Lunch Lady and Betty use (like the “Fancy Ketchup Packet Laser”.  The Breakfast Bunch have become a favourite to both me and my students!  They will be very excited to add this to our collection.

I rated this book 5/5.

 

 

 

 

 

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Although this book trailer only shows the first two books in the series, I thought I would include it, just because!  Enjoy.


………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

I am going to be reading two books in the Amulet series tonight.  Here is a book trailer for the first Amulet book where the author talks about the story.


…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

This is the second book in the Amulet series.  I am really enjoying the storyline and I really like the illustrations.  The only thing that held this graphic novel back from being a 5 is the fact that there was one particular scene that SCREAMED Star Wars.  It was the scene where Leon is trying to train Emily in the forest.  This automatically made me think of Yoda training Luke.  It is not a bad thing, I just have difficulty with story lines that remind me that obviously of other authors’ works…

Still, I really enjoyed it and I will be starting book three right away!

I rated this book 4/5.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Once again, I enjoyed this book.  However, with this book, I feel like the story is getting more mature and a little darker.  Like with the Harry Potter series, I feel like my students (in third grade) could easily handle the content of the first two books but would require more maturity to appreciate this third in the series.

On a different note, the illustrations in this book are stunning.  The two page spreads with no words were so breathtaking that I just looked at them for awhile before moving on to new pages.  I’m looking forward to the next in the series.

I rated this book 4/5.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

I have done a lot of reading about working with students who are difficult.  More and more in our business, our students are coming to us with challenges that we were just not trained to handle and our support systems within schools are becoming less and less available.  Almost all of the reading I have done is about the strategies available to me to use with the students either in prevention or reaction to students’ behaviour.  They have been valuable reading and have added to my bag of tricks.

This book was different though.  This book was more about me, as the teacher, than about the students.  Although the book in no way excuses student behaviour, it challenges the reader to reflect on what we bring to the conflict.  It is written on the premise that the only behaviour we can truly control is our own.  It goes through several examples of how our words, behaviours, tone of voice, past experiences and attitude can affect our interactions with students.  This book gives helpful suggestions of how we can become aware of these things and change.  In the end, it also gives the reader permission to let some things go…

I rated this book 5/5.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

This is my last post for 2010!  Happy New Year everyone!  Thanks for reading with me.

 

Leave a Reply

