It's Elementary!

by Jamie Forrest

#Bookaday – Day 10 January 1, 2011

Filed under: #bookaday — Jamie @ 10:03 pm

I have had this book on my TBR list for awhile now.  It took me a while to start reading, though, for some reason.  However, once I started reading it, I couldn’t stop.  This was one of those books that make me wish I could read faster.

I absolutely fell in love with Miranda who is just a kid trying to survive and figure things out.  The difficulties with her best friend Sal and her love of Madeline L’Engle took me back to my own youth.  Although the main characters are of middle school age, it is not one of those books where I feel like I need to be that age to identify with the story.  Nor do I feel like I need to remember the late 1970s to be able to identify with the setting.  Nor do I feel like I need to like mysteries or science fiction to enjoy the story.  Everything about this book seems sort of seemless and timeless; no need for labels or categories.  It is just a great book.

I rated this book 5/5.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

 

3 Responses to “#Bookaday – Day 10”

  1. Teresa Garrett Says:

    I really enjoyed this book also. So many layers. Made me want to revisit a Wrinkle in Time one of my favorite SciFi titles. (Haven’t gotten to it yet.)

  2. Alyson Says:

    I love how consistently you have been posting what you have read each day. You go girl!!! And this was a great read.

  3. ktenkely Says:

    I’ll have to add this one to my list!


Leave a Reply

