It's Elementary!

by Jamie Forrest

#Bookaday – Day 11 January 2, 2011

Filed under: #bookaday — Jamie @ 9:44 pm

I really enjoyed this graphic novel.  It is really hard to say if it would be complete enough or not.  I have read the full novel, and I have a hard time not “filling in the blanks” with what I already know about the story.  I kind of wish I had read this first to be able to judge it appropriately.  None-the-less, I still really enjoyed it!

I rated this book 4/5.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

I really enjoyed this Shining Willow Nominee.  This story is very detailed and has lots of humour written into it.  This illustrations are bold, colourful, and action-filled.  I especially like how there is a main frame and a film-strip type frame down the side of most pages.  I also really like how there is narration, speech bubbles and lots of onomatopoeia words throughout the book.

I’ve included one of the pages of this book below for you to get a sense of the amazing illustrations and layout of this book.

I rated this book 5/5.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

This is a Shining Willow Nominee.  For those of us who grew up with “For Better or For Worse”, the loveable dog Farley sets the mood right away in this lovely book.  This is another circular book that ends where it starts and I love books like that!  I particularly like how the author uses colour and spacing in the words to differentiate between narration and the smells.  The illustrations are throwback to the FBoFW comics we know.

I rated this book 4/5.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

This is another early chapter book, just right for my third graders.  This is the story of a young boy just learning how to ride his bigger two-wheeler.  Although he can ride, he does not feel confident enough to navigate the busy streets to school.  He decides to chance it.  On the way to school he gets into a little trouble with his lack of control, but on the way home is is forced into some heroic “olympic” riding to save a young friend.  Very cute story.

I rated this book 4/5.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Yet another early chapter book.  This book was extrememly well written with lots of depth to the story, which is unusual in an early chapter book with lots of visual support.  This is the story of a girl as she discovers that being friends with only one person can lead to being very lonely, especially when that one friend has other friends too!  I really enjoyed this book.

I rated this book 5/5.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….


 

2 Responses to “#Bookaday – Day 11”

  1. Tina Donnell Says:

    I enjoyed looking through your reviews. I’ll make a point of stopping by again – always looking for good reads for children. I’ll check out some of the ones you wrote about today. Thanks.

  2. ktenkely Says:

    Farly looks like it will be a winner with many kids! I have yet to meet a kid who can’t have their heart won over by an animal🙂


Leave a Reply

