It's Elementary!

by Jamie Forrest

#Bookaday – Day 12 January 4, 2011

Filed under: #bookaday — Jamie @ 9:12 am

This is another Shining Willow Award Nominee.  This is a non-fiction picture book.  I love the way this book is written and organized.  Each section starts with a silly question about a piece of clothing, such as “Have you ever seen a duck in a raincoat?”  Then it follows with the reason that people wear them.  Finally, it explains the adaptation that the animal has to allow them to do the same thing without the item of clothing.  The language is easy to understand and the illustrations strongly support the text.

The only thing that really bugged me about this book, and it bugged me enough to affect the rating, is the way the people’s noses are drawn.  Unfortunately for me, they stand out so much that they distract from the important information on the page.

I rated this book 4/5.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

This is a Shining Willow Award Nominee.  The illustrations are absolutely stunning in this book.  The story is very touching.  It is neat to see the English text right next to the Michif text.  Some of the Michif words are the same or similar to French while the Cree influenced words are quite foreign to me.  It would be a neat way to emphasize with my students how the Métis came to be.  There are also lesson suggestions at the back of the book for teachers to use.

I rated this book 5/5.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

This is a Shining Willow Nominee.  I liked this book, but for me, it was just okay.  The story is cute.  The illustrations were okay.  There is nothing really wrong with this book, It just didn’t grab me like many of the other nominees.  We’ll see what the kids say…

I rated this book 3/5.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

This is a Shining Willow Award Nominee.  The boys in my class are going to go nuts for this book.  It is about four boys who love hockey.  It is a nice story that mixes hockey with school and friendship.  The illustrations, although black and white, are really nice too.

I rated this book 4/5.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….


 

One Response to “#Bookaday – Day 12”

  1. ktenkely Says:

    Love Have You Ever Seen a Duck in a Raincoat! I checked it out while I was at the library because of your review, what a darling book. Thanks for pointing it out with your book-a-day. I thoroughly enjoy following it through tweets (and when I am caught up) on your blog!


Leave a Reply

