It's Elementary!

by Jamie Forrest

#Bookaday – January 9, 2010 January 9, 2011

Filed under: #bookaday — Jamie @ 5:29 pm

Camp Bob l’éponge

by Molly Reisner

This is my first experience reading SpongeBob Squarepants.  It is actually a pretty good little story.  It accurately portrays what can happen when power goes to someone’s head.  It also shows characters who find a creative way to tell their friend that he is annoying them.  My students will enjoy this one.

I rated this book 4/5.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Sardine in Outer Space

by Emmanuel Guibert

This is my first Sardine book as well.  I always thought that this was a graphic novel, but it is more graphic short stories.  Nonetheless, I really enjoyed this book.    The language and the stories are simple enough for my students but the pop culture references are excellent for older readers (like me!)

I rated this book 4/5.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Le mystère des muffins disparus

by Sheila Sweeny Higginson

I really didn’t like this book at all.  The story is fragmented and the language used is so far beyond the beginner level it was written for that my students wouldn’t understand most of it.  The only redeeming feature of this book is that the story can essentially be «read» through the pictures.

I rated this book 2/5.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

 

Leave a Reply

