It's Elementary!

by Jamie Forrest

Inspired by Creech January 12, 2011

Filed under: Myself as curriculum maker,Opinion pieces — Jamie @ 8:56 pm

During my new M.Ed class Monday night, my prof read us WHAT YOU KNOW FIRST by Patricia MacLachlan.  She asked us to think of a place that spoke to use both on the level of HOME and WHAT WE KNEW FIRST.  We later had to share this experience with the class.  I shared the story of my life as a gymnast.  I was a high level competitive gymnast when I was much younger.  I was either at school or at the gym. 7 days a week, I was at the gym until I suffered a back injury that forced me to quit.  For homework, I need to create something that speaks of HOME.  My prof wants a “creation,” anything that speaks to us.  She said it could be a collage, a journal entry, an essay, a story, anything really.  Last week I  finished reading Sharon Creech’s LOVE THAT DOG, and was completely affected emotionally by this book. (You can read the post here.)   Inspired by her free verse poetry, I decided to give it a try.  I’ve never really been a writer, so I would appreciate some feedback on this.

A special Thank you to Alyson and Shelley who helped me polish it up before I felt comfortable enough to post it on my site!

Thanks so much.

Jamie

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

I

AM

A GYMNAST.

I EAT

BREATHE

SLEEP

GYMNASTICS.

I THINK

LIVE

DREAM

GYMNASTICS.

THE GYM

IS MY

HOME.

DUSTY

CHALKY

FILLED WITH ECHOES

HOME.

POUNDING

DANCING

FLYING

HOME.

PRACTICE

PRACTICE

REPEATED

PRACTICE

COMPETE

HOME.

SCREAMING HANDS?

PUSH THROUGH IT.

SCREAMING KNEES?

PUSH THROUGH IT.

SCREAMING ANKLE?

PUSH THROUGH IT.

BECAUSE

I

AM

A GYMNAST

AND THIS

IS

HOME.

BUT SCREAMING BACK…

BURNING

SHRIEKING

BACK.

STAY STILL

DON’T MOVE

DON’T

PUSH THROUGH IT.

HOME

IS A HOSPITAL BED

A COUCH

A CHAIR.

THOSE BARS THAT ONCE HELPED ME FLY

NOW HELP ME WALK.

BUT

I WILL

PUSH THROUGH IT

BECAUSE

I

AM

A GYMNAST.

 

5 Responses to “Inspired by Creech”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Sharon Creech. Sharon Creech said: RT @fiteach: New blog post: Inspired by Creech (@ciaobellacreech): http://t.co/WHmrf6h #edchat #elemchat #poetry #writing […]

  2. I was feeling particularly weepy yesterday when I read your poem for who knows what weird hormonal reasons… Or maybe it was just the poem moved me. Thank you for sharing it.

  3. Justin Says:

    Very cool, Jamie. If you were in my class I would say “I’m so proud, because I can tell you wrote from your heart!” I love poetry. I’ll have to look into Sharon Creech as I have not heard of her.

    I like how you tied home being the gym, and the ending that loops back to the beginning is a nice touch. =D

    – @newfirewithin

  4. […] of experiences that had an impact on us at the time.  I have blogged about these experiences.  The first story I shared was a poem that I wrote about my experience having to quit gymnastics due to a back […]


Leave a Reply

